The Society was established in 1936 to promote, in the province of Ulster, the study and dissemination of Irish history in all its aspects. It is a non-political and non-sectarian body.

  • We hold regular public lectures and history events to promote new research in Irish history.
  • We host an annual public JC Beckett Memorial Lecture given by a leading historian.
  • We co-publish the research journal Irish Historical Studies, jointly with our sister organisation, the Irish Historical Society.
  • We promote interactions and connections between historians of Ireland, the wider history and heritage sector and the general public in the province of Ulster.

See our Autumn 2016 Programme here: USIHS Programme for Autumn 2016

See our Spring 2016 Programme here: USIHS Programme Spring 2016

The current officers of USIHS for 2016-18 are:

Committee for 2017-18:

Dr Marie Coleman (QUB); Dr John Cunningham (QUB); Dr Elaine Farrell (QUB); Prof. Peter Gray (QUB); Prof. David Hayton (QUB); Dr Andrew Holmes (QUB); Dr Janice Holmes (OU); Dr Ian Miller (UU); Mr Trevor Parkhill; Dr Andrew Sneddon (UU)

Contact us at: usihs01@gmail.com. We are also on Facebook and Twitter.

For information about how to become a Member, please contact the Secretary.

USIHS is affiliated to the Irish Committee for Historical Sciences

Read our revised Constitution here: USIHS Constitution_FINAL_19.06.14

See our previous JC Beckett Lectures here: Beckett Lectures since 1999